My #teacher5aday progress report


Since starting #teacher5aday in Decemeber I have tried to keep to it. I did update my progress a month in here. Now we are nearing May and Martyn Rhea (the instigator of #teacher5aday) is collecting updates. So here is my #teacher5aday update.

Connect

Home

I am happy to say I am still enjoying quality time with my children. Even better is the fact that they seem to be enjoying it too (which is always a bonus). Typical things we do are meals together sat at the table discussing each other’s day, trips to the cinema, swimming, weekends at our caravan, gardening and so on.

Work

I have been busy connecting with other further education practitioners through the various meetings I have been lucky to be part of (see here and here for some of them). I have also made some great friends in doing so.

Notice

Home

It is hardly surprising but I have noticed how much my children are growing up. The real give away is the fact that both of them are nearly as tall as me (although that is not very difficult as I’m only 5 ft). However what I have really noticed is that they have come to value the times set aside for them and I have too. Even better is I am no longer stressing about work when I’m with them.

Work

Recently I have noticed that all the hard work I have put into teaching my English functional skills students has finally paid off. So far I have had a very good success rate. Furthermore I have also noticed they have been paying attention to the feedback I gave them on the areas they needed to work on.

Exercise

Home

Swimming is still ongoing despite it being after a busy day. However it’s worth it, not only for the exercise part but the fun we all have together (although acting like a shark in the pool does get me some odd looks). Jogging has stopped as my son now joins his sister doing drama club on Saturday mornings. However all is not lost, the jogging has been replaced with cycling.

Work

Walking up and down lots of stairs!

Learn

Home

The hoovering will not do itself and there is no such thing as a cleaning fairy.

Work

I have learnt how to create new eLearning resources.

Volunteer

Home

I have still not achieved this one. As anything I volunteer for outside of work must fit in with my children. However I still hope I will succeed before the Summer holidays.

Work

I still continues to give any spare time I have to students that require either academic or pastoral support.

I have enjoyed doing #teacher5aday and will continue to do so.

3 thoughts on “My #teacher5aday progress report

  1. Pingback: #teacher5aday – Easter updates | 20 years a teacher

Comments are closed.