The ‘Mopping Up Month’ – my weekly ramblings. Week 1

I have foolishly promised to do a weekly reflective diary with @drkeevil and I believe @fossa99. The blog diary will relate to our weekly adventures within FE. I actually don’t officially need to go in. At present I am only on a temporary contract, so all I am doing is completing various paperwork and chasing a few students who have gone AWOL. I hope you don’t get too bored reading this!

Monday 3rd June 2013

Nothing to report, day of entertaining kids and housework!

Tuesday 4th June 2013

Ok some good news, I am still being timetabled for Tuesdays and Wednesdays till the end of this month! So that’s better than nothing at all, however a permanent contract would be nice!

I spent Tuesday helping several students behind on coursework, mainly due to them being absent on numerous occasion’s and generally life getting in the way of study!

Wednesday 5th June 2013

Just one student in but managed to get hold of a few of my AWOL ones, which was a relief. Trouble with vocational courses (especially ones with placements) is that students can get offered jobs. Don’t get me wrong, it is great when this happens. However once they start working, they fall behind on assignments. Unfortunately at this stage they are too far into the course so no chance of moving them to a part time option because of lovely things like retention!

Thursday 6th June 2013

Day off, but left looking at a timetable of this month and next months compulsory meetings. I cannot believe the amount of meetings we have! Still I shrugged it off this morning for a trip to the zoo with my own children.

On Twitter tonight Ukfechat (see here for more info) was about QTLS and professional status via the IFL. We never actually came to a decision, but it was good to chat and throw ideas around. Its interesting to hear what other lecturers think in other colleges and what they do for such things as embedding functional skills and dealing with classroom behaviour. It does amaze me how few there are of us engaging in it, considering the amount of staff working in any one college! Are we just geeks or do we need to promote it more, probably need to promote it more! I feel some staff development sessions coming on…

Friday 7th June 2013

Into college again to see some more students.

Bit of a difficult day, found out yesterday my dad has to have a pacemaker fitted asap! Over the last four years he has also fought against prostrate cancer, esophagus cancer and had a kidney removed due to cancerous cysts. I’m not mentioning this for sympathy, I just think its important to remember that we are human beings and often with our own personal problems. Yet despite this we troop on and go in to class as though nothing has happened. Then we fall apart in the staff room or car on the way home….

Anyway, that’s the end of my first weekly diary. Next week will be all about course reviews, and collecting data (yawn) and what I thought about being a personal tutor this year. I think I’ll do this again next week, it has been quite interesting to do and since my memory is like a sieve it may help me aswell!

